In July 2015, Miami-Dade County decriminalized marijuana possession under 20 grams. Does this mean marijuana is legal in Florida?
Possession In Miami-Dade County
On July 10, 2015, the County Commission elected to decriminalize the possession of up to 20 grams of marijuana. The county will now impose a fine of $100 or 2 days of community service for anyone caught with more than this amount. Previously, the county processed offenders in the same manner as the State by charging them with a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the amount of marijuana they carried when caught.
The State Of Florida
While Miami-Dade has chosen to limit punishment and taken away the onus of criminal charges for possession under 20 grams, the state has yet to make changes to the law. In the 2014 election, Amendment 2 failed to pass by a small margin. Those who supported the amendment to the state’s constitution have vowed to try again in 2016. It is a misdemeanor to possess up to 20 grams in the state at this time – over 20 grams is a felony charge.
The Short Answer
While possession of 20 grams of marijuana or less is no longer a crime in one county, Florida still considers possession a crime. At this time, there is no news of any other counties considering changes in their laws. It is still against the law to possess and use marijuana in the state of Florida, whether medical or recreational.
Keep up to date with all the latest marijuana headlines and find the best deals and dispensaries here.
Want to learn more? Check out these stories: